Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have come across a few tutorials on pinterest lately that have been suggesting making your own altered designed mugs by using a Sharpie! I kept thinking, “God, I WISH it were that easy!” My cups take 3-4 days to complete and have multiple steps to get to a finish that I like. I decided to try it out and followed the steps I have been seeing on blogs. Cup, Sharpie, Design, Bake at 350 for 30 mins and allow to cool. After the mug had been sitting for a few hours I decided to try washing it with warm water, regular dish soap and a sponge– just as I thought, the design immediately deteriorated. Below are the first wash, the second pass under the faucet and sponge and the third. It took a total of 2 minutes to wash the writing almost completely off. I guess it was too good to be true.

Image

